Sister Cities Board

Primary tabs

Please note you are looking at an event that has already happened.

Program Description

The Sister Cities Board meets on the first Wednesday of every other month in Room 15 of City Hall (unless otherwise noted on the agenda).


In June, 1973, the City Council established an advisory group to oversee and coordinate the activities of Santa Barbara's Sister City Program. The Sister City Program is part of the People-to-People Program initiated by President Dwight Eisenhower in 1956 to promote friendship among people regardless of race, color or creed. This is done through the activities of private citizens, organizations and the City itself.

Currently, Santa Barbara's Sister Cities include Dingle, Ireland; Kotor, Montenegro; Puerto Vallarta, Mexico; San Juan Metro Manila, Philippines; Toba City, Japan; and Weihai, People's Republic of China.